top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemadiannblack

[You Name Here] is simply amazing: Writing Your Best Professional Biography Yet


Professional biographies can be exceptionally captivating. In my opinion, it’s the only acceptable and professional way to properly internet stalk someone (ever tried to locate a reputable doctor before?). You won’t find out if their ex-partner is actually your third cousin, but you will be left in awe of their accomplishments, awards, titles held, and interests. The professional biography is the perfect outlet to humble brag, and this should be taken advantage of to the fullest extent.

That being said, it is important to remember that your professional biography may be your first impression to give a future employer or client. The professional bio should reflect your true interests and passions as to why you do what you do, and what motivates you in your pursuit for success. While the professional bio is professional, it should also be personal.

Quick Tips for Writing Your Professional Bio


· Writing Style: should I write my professional bio in first or third person?

For the most part, this is up to you. If you are writing a biography for your personal website or portfolio, you might want to write in first person to make it slightly more personable. A professional bio for a LinkedIn account is a great example of when to write your bio in first person. If your professional bio is going to be featured on any other collective platform, such as a company website, this would need to be written in third person.

· Format: Length of your bio, what you should say and when to say it

Alex Honeysett wrote an article for The Muse

that included a professional bio template to follow and an example to inspire you:




Things to Remember:

In another article featured in The Muse, Adrian J. Hopkins suggests after drafting your professional biography, ask yourself:

Would I want to meet me?

I found this an extremely compelling statement that encompasses all the facets of a professional biography. Certainly, you are a talented employee that has a lot to offer – but you also have a life outside of work. When writing your bio, let your voice and words speak to who you are.

Your bio does not have to be long. As the saying goes, quality over quantity. If you find yourself in a fortunate position of having to be selective of the accomplishments and awards to include in your bio, be selective! Or, write a clever sentence that encompasses the results you produce, your motivation for your work, or what is important to you in your career. This way, it isn’t just a list of accomplishments, but rather a quick, proactive statement that engages the reader and offers a way to connect.


Examples of Professional Biographies


Around December of last year, I went to see the dentist because my jaw had been bothering me. I originally thought it was just sinuses. Lo and behold, I had a monster of a tooth infection from a prior root canal. The dentist said to me: I have to remove your tooth. I responded with: absolutely not!


So began my journey to find a dentist who specialized in oral surgery, tooth extraction, and implant surgery. Not long after I began my search, I came across Dr. Clark:




I hope you found this professional biography as impressive as I did. Even though Dr. Clark is a medical professional and is not a legal professional, I wanted to include his biography because it captures how impactful and profound professional biographies can be.

I also wanted to include a paralegal’s professional biography. Here I have listed two, from Lovorn & Ogle, PLLC:




These professional biographies are not as lengthy as Dr. Clark’s, but they are effective and successful given the audience and platform. Legal professionals, staff, and attorneys employed within the legal sector are somewhat limited on may be listed as an accomplishment. For instance, I couldn’t say in my biography that I helped Mr. XYZ avoid prison for tax invasion. Instead, I would have to refer to clients in general, and be careful to not include even the slightest confidential detail.


As paralegals, it is important we appeal to not only our supervisors but also clients. The professional biography of an attorney will attract the appropriate clients, and these clients will go on to give meaningful testimonies and referrals. Therefore, the professional biographies of Gracie and Simona are compelling examples of professional biographies within the paralegal profession.

Closing Comments


I wish you the best of luck in drafting your very own professional biographies. Always remember, these things take time, and we’re not all born a Mark Zuckerberg. Navigating the job market, growing as a professional, and growing through life is a marathon, not a sprint.

If you have any other questions or comments, please contact me below!

16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page